Parents should not pressure their children to choose a particular profession. Young people should have the freedom to choose a career path they like. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Younger ones should have the right to decide which occupation to go into, and they should not be forced by their caretaker to study certain fields. I strongly believe that allowing children to make certain decisions without the interference of their older ones would make the child do better in their field of choice and have good chances of succeeding in their profession. Firstly, children tend to do better because they have passion of what they are doing, and would put more effort into it. Furthermore, they have more chances in their career progression because their mental health is at peace. For example, those who are forced to study medicine end up dropping out of school due to academic pressure and lack of interest in what they are taught. As a result, this leads to more dropouts in a society, increasing crime rates. Additionally, depression and suicidal thoughts set in in some individuals, which would lead to an increase in psychiatric patients, making loved ones spend money on therapy. This does not only affect the child's health, but also increases the financial burden on the caregivers. For example, medical school can be very challenging, most of the times only 50% of students are able to pass an exam because of the bulk of study. Imagine having to read 1000 pages and only getting 2 questions out of those pages. In conclusion, Parents should not be the force their children to choose a field, as this may lead to regrets at the end of the day.