Some people believe that university education should focus on preparing students for specific careers. Others think it should provide general knowledge useful for all aspects of life. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have distinct options as to whether to focus on one path or get a balanced general knowledge. While both can be true in their own right, I agree with the former view. One idea in favour of concentrating on a specific field is preparing skilled specialists. In other words, when individuals study a single area, they can be more productive. For instance, universities in Uzbekistan choose one direction to prepare students as specialists for their future occupation. As a result, these learners may become competitive in their major, which they have opted for. Without focusing on only a specific career, there might be a lack of professionals. Thus, universities are supposed to put main courses related to students' careers in their schedule. However, another idea against this is treating all subjects equally. In other words, learners should be provided with basic knowledge, so that they can use it if they would like to change jobs in the future. Businessmen, for example, who have failed to manage their business or have failed to attract investors, most often begin working in accounting or administration. Consequently, it can be an effective option to educate all subjects equally. If it were not for learning general knowledge, there would be a lack of imagination about all aspects of life. Therefore, students should learn different majors. In conclusion, although teaching all subjects is beneficial, when a job is changed, focusing on a specific field is the optimal way to prepare them better for their future career.