Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

In the era of advanced technology, so many have social platforms developed that it is no longer difficult for the public to download copyrighted music and books without being charged. Some people argue that humans could reap the benefíts of this proclivity, yet I do believe that its consequences may do more harm than good. Regarding their advantages, it is believed that free downloading of copyrighted content is beneficial. This is because there are various sources of not only knowledge, but also entertainment on the Internet. With the aid of free downloading, people having financial disadvantages could be likely to have more access to the world of knowledge, hence gain equal rights to develop academically and mentally, which used to be unfeasible. Consequently, this helps people save money and time since they do not need to go to the bookstore and pay a large amount of budget for knowledge and entertainment. However, I support the idea that free copyrighted content may lead to some Drastic results. This is because these contents are the intellectual property of individuals, not society. They are made by authors and artists to earn a living. Thus, distributing their products may pose an alarming threat to creative workers since they have to face with receiving lower income and having no cash for more production. Moreover, they may feel disrespected since their works of art are stolen and used freely without permission. Consequently, they may be less likely to make contributions to society. Conclusively, although free downloading contents may have some certain merits, including having equal academic development and saving money and time, I am of the opinion that using intellectual contents with no charge is a negative trend that should be eliminated.