Nowadays a lot of buildings, such as schools and offices, are now being built with an open plan design. Why is that? Do you see this as a positive or negative development?

In recent years, a lot of buildings, such as schools and offices, are being built with an open plan design. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this tendency and its positive effects. To begin with, there are several reasons for building many buildings with an open plan design. One major reason for that is that such designs are becoming increasingly popular around the globe. In other words, such designs started to pop up in the last few years, and many companies begin promoting them; therefore, it gained lots of popularity worldwide, including well-known cities, such as LA, Seoul, and Dubai. Another reason behind the tendency of constructing open buildings recently, is the relaxation and convenience it offers. People explain that such designs somehow bring them comfort and allow them to feel less stressed. Buildings with an open plan design have many positives. It is possible to say that they make employees more productive. To illustrate, many studies have shown that offices with an open layout design actually make workers more energetic, compared to a close design, which makes individuals lazy to perform their tasks. Moreover, buildings with such designs are extremely beneficial for reducing stress and depression levels, though it might sound weird, it is largely true. Experts explain the reason for this is that such layouts focus more on letting the sun light in, and with the existence of specious green trees behind large windows they help reduce stress and depression effectively. In conclusion, there are many causes of this phenomenon. It is also true that schools and offices that built with an open plan design have lots of advantages.