There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been pointed out that youngsters feel extremely stressed to achieve academic success, so several modules which are not related to academic education should be removed from the curriculum in order to allow students to focus on those academic majors. Personally, I completely disagree with this idea as non-academic classes bring benefits in terms of creativity and learning academic courses. First of all, learning a non-academic subject, such as arts or cookery, is beneficial for the development of creativity. This is because arts are not judged by a universal standard, so when schoolchildren learn this subject, they are not afraid of trying different ways to express themselves, which encourages them to think outside the box, thus cultivating creative thinking. For instance, a huge number of teachers at secondary schools state that attending art classes every week to appreciate foreign masterpieces provides their schoolchildren with a chance to learn new ways to approach a task, which contributes to the development of imagination. Furthermore, enrolling in classes, such as physical education, benefits the study of students' major subjects. The reason is that majors, such as mathematics or biology, are complex and tedious, and if pupils spend a considerable amount of time studying these courses, their concentration and enthusiasm towards study will be decreased, which is detrimental to their academic performance. By contrast, as a non-academic class is relaxing, if sparing a minor amount of time attending a PE class, students’ minds will be refreshed, leading to better performance when studying their majors. As an illustration, a massive proportion of high school youngsters mention that physics is incredibly hard to learn due to its complicated experiments, which harms their attitudes towards education. Participating in physical exercise in PE class offers them an opportunity to brighten their moods and take a break, thus leading to a better outcome in physics. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinions about whether these non-academic modules should be gotten rid of from the school curriculum, I am of the opinion that these subjects should be kept in the content of educational establishments as they have advantages regarding major subjects study and imagination.