Children have more and more tests and exams to do at school, sometimes starting from the age 5 or 6, right up until age of 18. What are the advantages and disadvantages of making children do exams?

Nowadays, most children around the world receive formal education at the age of five or six. Regular tests and exams are the common way of assessments as an important part of the learning process at primary and secondary schools. There is no doubt that tests and exams can bring benefits to students ' learning. However, there are some drawbacks that parents and teachers need to take notice of. The key advantage of tests and exams for students is providing a clear picture of the learning progress of stuents. Through these formative and summative assesments, teachers, parents and students themselves can understand how much and how well have the students learnt. Teachers and parents can support students who are struggling in certain areas, while teachers can give more challenging tasks for students who are able to learn deeper. Moreover, another positive aspect for stdudents to conduct tests and exams is recognising their work and progress. It is crucial for them to have formal feedback, reports or certificates throughout various stages of learnig. On the other hand, the main disadvantages of tests and exams is somtimes causing stressed for students. They may worry about the results too much that creates negative effect on learning. Additionally, the other downside of tests and exams is that the actual teaching and learning time may be reduced. As tests and exams can be time-consuming, students may not have enough time to learn adequately. In conclusion, there are advantages and disadvantages of making students do tests and exams. The benefits consists of showing and recognising the real progress of learning, whereas, the drawbacks includes students getting stressed and learning time being taken away. It is essential for all the stakeholders to balance the positive and negative sides of them.