Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

THERE IS NO DENYING THE FACT THAT RESIDENTS ARE THE SIGNIFICANT PRIORITY FOR THE COUNTRIES, AND FEEDING THEM IS THE SECOND MAJOR. WHILE PLENTY OF INDIVIDUALS CONSIDER THAT COUNTRIES SHOULD BE ABLE TO PROVIDE THE FOODSTUFF FOR THEIR NATION THEMSELVES. MOREOVER, IMPORT A SMALL AMOUNT OF IT TO OTHER NATIONS. IN MY VIEW, I CONCUR WITH THIS CONSIDERATION BECAUSE IT HAS MANY PROS AND CONS AT THE SAME TIME. TO BEGIN WITH, THE BENEFITS OF PREDUCING VEGETABLES AND FRUITS FOR YOUR OWN NATION IS SIGNIFICANTLY BENEFICIAL BECAUSE YOU CAN ONLY RELY ON YOUR OWN RESOURCES, WHICH WILL COST LESS THAN WHEN YOU BRING IT FROM ANOTHER COUNTRY. IT IS POSSIBLE TO SAY THAT THERE IS NO DOUBT THAT SOME SPECIES OF FOOD NEED TO BE EXPORTED BECAUSE OF THE CLIMATE AND THE GENERAL ENVIRONMENT OF THE COUNTRY. SO THIS WILL BENEFICIALLY RETURN ON THE ECONOMY OF THE COUNTRY ITSELF. FOR EXAMPLE, IN SAUDI ARABIA, WE IMPORT A HUGE AMOUNT OF DATE BECAUSE THE WEATHER IN THE COUNTRY ENABLE US TO PRODUCE IT. WITH REGARD TO THE DRAWBACKS OF THE CONCEPT, AS I MENTIONED THAT THE GENERAL ENVIRONMENT OF THE COUNTRY CAN BE DOMINATED BY HOW MANY KINDS OF MEAL WE PRODUCE. THEREFORE, THIS WILL LIMIT THE PROCESS OF PRODUCING THE FOOD AND MIGHT NEED TO EXPORT MORE FOOD FROM OTHER COUNTRIES. MOREOVER, NATURALLY, IT WILL BE COSTLY. FOR INSTANCE, IN SAUDI ARABIA, WE EXPORT MANY KINDS OF FRUITS LIKE, STRAWBERRIES FROM TURKEY AND SPAIN. TO NUTSHELL, PRODUCING THE FOOD FOR YOUR NATION HAS PLENTY OF ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES. SUCH AS, LESS COST AND BENEFIT TO THE COUNTRY ITSELF REGARDING EXPORTING IT. WHEREAS, THE CONS ARE A LACK OF PRODUCING SOME SPECIES DUE TO THE WEATHER AND MIGHT COST A LOT.