Today, many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this?

Nowasdays, there are many people do not know who their neighnours are. This essay aims to discuss what issues caused by the unfamiliarised relationship in the neighbourhood and suggest some the solutions to deal with the related problems. One of the problems is that distancing between the neighbourhood in large cities would make people not having connections, and thus decrease people's happiness. Human beings need to have some meaning in their lifes so that they could feel content. According to the research conducted by the University of Hong Kong (2024), most of their respondents who are not having adaquate conversations with their neighbours would have a lower sense of happiness, and find it difficult to get satisfaction. This shows that there is a correlation between satifaction and the distance of people. The larger the distance is, the lower of their happiness. Another problem is that this may hinder the development of the economy. It is normal that peer effect affects people's choices in the society. If people's friend find one product is useful, they are tend to purchase that product too. One research conducted by The Development Bureau of Hong Kong (2023) states that there is a correaltion between the distance of neighbours and the desire of people to consume. In most cases, when people's neighbour buy a product, they are likely to consume it too. This foster the economy development. To address these peoblems, one of the solutions is that some workshops which fostering neighborhood's relationships can be held. For example, some cooking classes will be welcomed in many families. Making dishes needs a lot of communications. During the workshops, people will chat with each other and therefore shortening the distance. Another way is to advertise the benefits of having a close relationship with neighbours. Hong Kong is one of the cities that citizens are being distant. The government of Hong Kong establishes some advertisement to tell people what advantages could be bring by the close relationship. This effectively increases the awareness of the problem, and the problem brings by not having close relationships in the neighbiurhood is gradually solved. To sum up, it is a common phenomenon that people are not willing to communiacte with their neighbours. This decreases people's happiness and hinders the development of the society. However, it can be solved by holding workshops and advertise the benfits of having a close relationship between neighbours.