Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

More and more people nowadays choose railways in their daily travel rather than roads, so they perceive it necessary for government to spend more money on railways instead of roads. I completely agree with this idea. Railway travel is an effective way to relieve traffic jams and it makes travel more efficient. With the development of technology and the increase of people ’s wealth, an increasing amount of cars have appeared on the cities’ roads which makes cities always be crowded and really slows the traffic. On the contrary, railway will never be affected by the heavy traffic, it can keep its high speed under any circumstances, especially during New Year holidays, when it almost takes people driving a car twice as long to back to their hometown than their counterparts choosing railway travel. Then, once the railway is significantly developed, more people will choose not to buy a car that will solve the problem of crowded cities. Railway travel is also a more environmentally friendly way and cost less resources than road transport. Harmful gas like CO2 emitted from cars endangers the environment, making earth’s temperature rise yearly and contributing to frequent extreme weather events. Plus, cars consume a lot of fossil fuels, which is non renewable. If these resources can be saved, it will be used in more necessary construction projects like military and science. These issues will all have a long-term impacts on the well-being of people. However the railway transport will never have these side effects, it’s friendly to the environment and cost little. In conclusion, I believe that it is definitely a good idea for government to spend more on railway development than on the roads.