Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The statement about traffic congestion has increased in the last thirty years across the cities on Globe, thanks to soaring car ownership is totally true. Because, infrastructures of cities have not undergone enough redevelopment phase, which resonates with the surge in traffic burden. In recent years, automobile companies have developed new manufacturing facilities to account for car demand. Governments should take some measures to handle this issue. Firstly, they should introduce new stricter laws to reduce pollution created by automobile factories. For instance, regulatory laws empower local inspectors to check that large emission producers obey the rules. Additionally, these manufacturers also establish self-esteem control mechanisms to monitor their carbon emissions sustainability. Similarly, for citizens, new and increased taxes for car ownership should be implemented to discourage people from owning one. Secondly, for individuals, local authorities should build a reliable and secure public transport system. By this amenity, citizens could prefer this commuting method for their daily life needs. For example, tubes, subways, buses and minibuses, which are suitable for a town transportation system, should be introduced rapidly. Thirdly, with advertising and public broadcasting, people should be properly informed, so community awareness could rise about the environmental effects of car emissions and prevention methods. For instance, students begin to become conscious in elementary school, so new subjects about this issue should be added to the curriculum. Ultimately, if public awareness and unwillingness pertaining to car usage are targeted. All these above steps should be taken together to easily achieve this goal. All steps and their related legislation should be precisely arranged and occupied by the local and country-wide authorities.