Today, news plays an important role, and it is influencing the humanity even more than it ever did. Why is this a case? Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, it is not uncommon to see news playing a significant role in people's lives than ever before. There could be one main reason behind this, and I believe that it is a negative trend. One main reason the news becomes important in an individual’s life is being aware of disasters. In other words, up-to-date information, which the community can get through TV shows, newspapers or social media, is followed by personalities to know current events. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, people didn’t take their eyes off the report to avoid getting infected. As a result, the latest events run by reporters could assist, even if it is a problem that can be avoided by them. Without being aware of updated information, individuals would not know how to deal with issues. Therefore, the updated information plays a crucial role in the public’s lives. One major outcome of this trend is being exposed face report, which could be more unreliable. In other words, society would not be able to filter out the data, failing to select the true ones. For instance, it is not uncommon to see content or videos made by AI. As a result, as it affects public opinion, it can destroy the reputation of celebrities. Thus, an announcement can negatively affect to individual's life, as it is easy to change people's minds. To summarise what has been stated so far, while the news influences humanity because they want to be aware, I strongly believe that it is a negative development.