Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a new job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Although university education allows you to acquire enough knowledge to be an expert on a certain topic, nowadays university education is being put into question because it does not always go along with a good job. In addition, employers are giving increasing importance to having soft skills and experience. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and explain why I support the second viewpoint. On the one hand, some people argue that university education permits the creation of suitable profiles for fields where knowledge is more relevant than experience to successfully develop your career in the future. For instance, in science, engineering or finance, you need to have a deep understanding of the theory to perform your duties properly. On the other hand, others believe that there are other fields in which the job market needs workers with appropriate soft skills for positions like management, customer service, medicine, manufacturing… Although in these types of jobs, knowledge is still important, it is even more crucial to have the correct personality features, such as being helpful, sociable, dynamic and resolutive. For example, a survey conducted in healthcare companies demonstrates that 70% of the employees have studied vocational training and that these workers are highly valuable for the business. In conclusion, you need both things to improve your profile and CV. However, judging from my personal experience, soft skills have played a more crucial role in my career because they have let me adapt to different job environments and deal with customers and coworkers. Therefore, I agree with those who give more importance to soft skills.