In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a growing trend where people in some countries are curious about knowing the history of the place where they live. The main reason for this is to gain knowledge of the past owners and the history behind the house. Usually, people research this by asking people who live in the neighbourhood. People living in old houses tend to be more curious about finding out what their home histories are. This is mainly because of the past owner’s tangible and intangible legacies left in that residence, which sometimes are correlated with unsettling experiences. For instance, families who live in manors may have witnessed paranormal activities while walking around the house at night, and that reason could spark an interest in knowing more about the past owners of the manor or what happened back then. The most common way to find information about a property’s history is to ask elders or neighbours who live in the area. It is most efficient to dig up information from sources who have lived there longer, since they are living witnesses who experienced the past itself. Studies also show that talking to neighbours and elders builds connections that will develop a healthier bond in the neighbourhood. In conclusion, the main reason for people to develop an interest in knowing the historical sides of their house is to immerse themselves more in the eerie experiences that they had been through in the past. Therefore, one of the best ways to research the history of their house is to interview elders and neighbours in the area.