some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view? (frequently repeated topic)

In recent years, there has been a huge increase in the number of spending money on the art industry from government. I firmly believe that it is not a waste of money, but an investment for the future. Firstly, there is a point to be made that it might get a diplomatic power. For example, there are movies and dramas on Netflix such as Demon Hunters or Squid Game series that recently become issues. For this reason, it is evident that the government need to support the making contents about Korea culture and export it, then it could increase the country of brand and diplomatic influence. In addition to this, it must be stated that it can activate tourism and the local economy. For instance, increasing a country’s brand value can lead to rise travel and touristry. Therefore, it is clear that this creates jobs through galleries, festivals or performances. Furthermore, it will help the regional development by increasing tourism revenue through an eAect of cafes, hotels, and retails. To conclude, the overwhelming evidence seem to suggest that the government agree to waste money on art because it can have long-term benefits not only for the local economy but also for the nation.