Some people think that the government should spend more money on public services rather than on arts such as music and theatre. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the government should allocate more funds to public services as compared to the arts. I agree with this notion to a large extent, however thorough analysis of the given standpoint is necessary to validate my perspective. Emphasising the possible factors to advocate the priorities of public services, the major one could be improvement in citizens' living standard. To be precise, better government services like healthcare, education, and transport provide comfortable and convenient lifestyle to everyone. Thus, when high authorities spend more money on hospitals, schools and public transport, it ensures better living conditions for everyone. Another remarkable aspect is that civic services are a basic need of natives. In other words, interest in music and theatre is optional, and people can easily survive without these arts, but government services offer safety and health to the public. For example, better police, fire departments ensure people's safety. Therefore, offering more budget to public services can lead to a strong country. Not only this, good infrastructure enhances the nation's economic growth, such as the Creative industries create jobs and attract tourism. Conversely, a small amount of funding should still be allocated to the arts because they preserve a culture and identity. Government-supported festivals and art exhibitions can promote national unity and tourism, which indirectly benefits the economy. To sum up, it is concluded that no doubt, some amount of funds should be spent on arts because it keeps heritage alive, nevertheless, the benefits rendered by public services cannot be ignored.