In many countries online shopping is becoming more and more popular. Some people think that this is having negative impacts on the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree and give your opinion.

Buying and selling different items on an online platform is a common phenomenon all over the world. Although, many people believe that this is not good for society. However, I disagree with the statement. Online shopping has a lot of benefits. Firstly, it saves consumers valuable time. With a busy schedule, it is tough to go to market where grocery, clothes and other necessary items are now easily available in different online apps or websites. For example, in Bangladesh, people use a popular online app- Chaldal- to buy daily used products such as rice, vegetable, fruites, fish, meat, and etc. A recent study published by Dhaka University shows that on average a person, who used Chaldal app, saves two hours weekly. In addition, the research mentioned that people use the time, which saved by using online shopping apps, with their family and friends. Furthermore, they invest those time for their personal development through involving in different social activities. However, this might not be true for all people; online shopping can make people lazy and isolated. Moreover, online platforms boost the economy of a society or a country. Many small retail businessmen can run their business online and earn money. This may have positive impact on social economical growth as well. For instance, a couple from Barguna city started a small handmade cloth business and they sell them online. Soon the business get success and after some month they expand their business which inspired many people from different cities of Bangladesh. These businesses create thousands of job opportunities that make a great contribution on society. Besides, it also influence the country’s economy. In conclusion, although online shopping has some negative impacts but in bigger scale it has grater benefits such as economic and social. This is why I disagree with the statement, however, this is my personal opinion, this could be vary person to person.