The food travels thousand of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think that it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate local produced food. What extent do the advantages outweigh disadvantages ?

In the contemporary economic market, the food on the grocery stores is being taken from farms that are thousands of kilometres away. Worrying about the impact of transportation to the envirenment and the benefit to the local economy if this food has been produced locally, people believe that local production should be encouraged. From my point of view, there is only a little gap between the benefits and drawbacks of food delivery. On the one hand, long delivery of products to consumers can be explained with uneven distribution of resources across the globe. That means, some products need specific conditions to be grown. For instance, a carrot. This vegetable needs a dry area where it can be watered twice / three times apply in a week. In addition, constant sunshine and hot weather make up for its taste and productivity. Moreover, the geographical location of countries. While some countries are easily accessable to seashore or open water bases, another group of countries do not have. Contrary, some countries are well-provided regarding the agricultural treasures, vegetables, fruits, and other vegetation can be easily harvested. So, as the British economist, David Ricardo suggests in his book of economy, countries have to trade their abundunt resources with others, echanging them to the another goods that they need. As a result, some products such as bananas, ananases, or special sorts of fish, have to be brought from overseas. On the other hand, thanks to the high-pace devoloping technologies and new innovations almost everything is getting possible. By bearing in mind this fact, people could have manufacture goods locally contributing to the regional market. if this process can be realised, life quality in the rural areas will get increased, unemployment will be reduced, and the GDP of the whole country will skyrocket, especially in that countries where the dwellers of non-urban areas are more. Furthermore, even most importantly, due to the reduction of the amount of the transportation, emission of CO2 will be cut sensibly reflecting on the cleaner atmosphere. Additionally, this will decrease the amount of traffic congestions and road accidents. In conclusion, despite the fact that some products cannot be harvested in specific areas, they must be transported from abroad to satisfy consumers needs. However, thanks to the cutting-edge technologies, they also might be manufactured locally, bringing numerous benefits to the flora and fauna of the area.