Many people believe that there is no need to travel to a place to learn a specific culture, it can be now acquired by watching films or browsing through internet. But, many are against it. To what extend do you agree?

Undoubtedly, cultural background of a region can be understood by different strategies, such as by travelling to the place, watching movies as well as by web browsing. While a majority of individuals argue that in order to study the culture of a geographical location, sightseeing can be replaced with movies and internet surfing, others have a contradictory stance on it. Considering the benefits of traversing, I greatly agree that it cannot be completely replaced with movies or by browsing. Primarily, travelling gives a first-hand experience of the region and thereby an insight into their peculiar cultural traits. In explanation, when a place is visited, a detailed realistic image is stored in the memory rather than an arbitrary one, when envisioned based on a movie. Furthermore, it offers a chance to self-accustom to their culture. For instance, a tour to China during the chinese new year, bestows a chance to experience their culture. Therefore, it is clear that travelling is vital to acquiant with unique traditions. Secondly, heritage is a broad idea, which doesnot limit to mere language or attire. In other words, this concept has its boundaries spread across multiple domains, such as behaviour, way of communication, regional festivals and food cuisines. These areas can never be wholistically percieved through navigating the internet. To cite an example, the authentic turkish cuisine can be explored in its traditional form only in Turkey. Hence, it is justified that to know a place and its traditions, traversing is unparallel to others. On the other side, although films and web browsing are two different options to understand the lifestyle of a region, it cannot replace travelling as the above mentioned only give an abstract idea about the same. As a result, one needs to travel to get a complete picture about their way of living. For example, there are many movies and websites regarding the culture that is followed in India; however, only a person, who has travelled to both the southern as well as the northern states of India, would understand how diverse both these poles are from each other. In conclusion, it can be summarised that though the values of a place can be learned through various means, travelling is the primary resource. It cannot be equated with the information gained from neither the movies nor the internet.