With the increased demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that untouched lands must be investigated because of the increasing necessity for energy sources worldwide. This essay totally disagrees with this statement. I believe that exploiting new areas in order to gain access to oil and gas can have detrimental impacts on the environment and cause more dependency on fossil fuels. Exploring new territories for fossil-gaining purposes can significantly worsen the biodiversity of the Earth. Aspiring to acquire temporary power resources, a vast landscape must be destroyed, chopping down hectares of wood and releasing hazardous gas emissions into the atmosphere. Furthermore, it may cause other catastrophic issues such as global warming by depriving remaining trees on the Earth and increasing air pollution. For example, statistics provided by Nazarbayev University show that by exploiting lands excessively between 1970 and 1996, Kazakhstan's climate worsened by 35% due to degraded air quality and the extinction of local species of fauna and flora. Having exploited fossil fuels from undeveloped areas, citizens can grow their dependency by trying to accomplish urgent necessities. Not only does the exploration of new lands make people eager to consume increasingly year by year, but it may also lead to a neglectful approach to the environment. Instead of inventing and implementing eco-friendly sustainable energy, humans generally rush to find a temporary salvation. For instance, a study conducted by the World Nature Conservancy proves that the opening of new gas and oil fields is gaining a tendency, with an increasing figure of about 9% each year, causing the neglect of the invention of alternative power sources. In conclusion, though the demand for traditional energy resources is growing, it must not be the reason to exploit undeveloped areas, as this can become the root of disaster for nature and increase humanity’s reliance on these sources.