In many countries, young people spend less time outdoors than in the past. Why is this happening? What can be done to encourage young people to spend more time outside?

In general, young people have been spending less of their time outdoors. It is now quite common to see young ones in their rooms rather than on the playground. There are likely a number of reasons for this problem to occur internationally. One common view is that technology plays the main role in this issue. Firstly, the number of entertaining activities has greatly increased. There is a large variety of games that can be played in teams or individually. Furthermore, access to most information is available on online platforms. Teenagers do not have to go to libraries or exchange their notes, as they can easily find the needed knowledge on websites like Wikipedia. Another reason for this change in behavior is the appearance of new methods of communication. Nowadays, young people communicate through social networks such as Instagram, Skype, and Twitter. This kind of interaction can deliver a large amount of information, but it also damages real-life communication skills. Scientists have proved that younger generations feel uncomfortable making phone calls and prefer texting. In order to motivate teenagers to take interest in outdoor activities, a few measures have been proposed: encouraging children to have a more responsible attitude toward their screen time, integrating outdoor activities into the education system, and explaining the benefits of open-air recreation. In conclusion, the use of gadgets should be regulated in order to maintain balance in our lives and to have a healthy relationship with the reality that surrounds us.