In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In several nations, owning a home is considered more important than renting one. This is because it provides people freedom to modify and use the property as they wish. I believe it is a positive development as purchasing a house is a one-time investment which gives long term financial security and stabiity. To begin with, the main reason behind buying a home is that it enables people to make changes in their home as they want. This means that they do not need any permissions to renovate and design their house. As a result, it gives them a sense of belonging and a feeling of permanence which gives people emotional satisfaction. For instance, according to Home Department of India 2020, 70% of people bought their own house because of restrictions from landlords. Moreover, the main advantage of owning a home is that it not only help people to secure their future but also provides them economic well-being. This is because they do not need to worry after their retirement to buy home which leads to stress for them in later life. Consequently, having a fully paid home reduce their expenses in old age life. For example, one of my cousins has bought house in his early 20s to make his future secure and stress-free. In conclusion, it can be stated that the major cause for owning a house it that it gives people a sense of ownership to rebuild their house whenever they want. Also, the benefit of buying a house is that people have to pay one time which makes their future tension free.