Some people argue that parents of children who break the law should be punished in some way, because they are responsible for their children’s actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been claimed that if children commit crimes, their parents ought to be punished to some extent. I partly agree with this point of view, since parents play a pivotal role in child development and simultaneously, it should not be forgotten that children are also individuals, who have to take responsibility for their actions. One primary reason why parents are responsible for the ramifications of their children ’s actions is that parents contributed largely to shaping their children, teaching them human traits, behavior, and even rudimentary things like eating and sleeping. A massive number of children see their parents as their role models, trying to imitate all their actions from walking to behaving. When children commit a crime, parents may be guilty because they do not teach their children what is acceptable and detrimental both to themselves and to the community. On the other hand, there is a view that it is not parents’ fault that their children breach the law, for they have distinctive personalities.Basically, it is evident that everyone has their own minds and it is predominantly depend on them how to use it properly. In this case, it seems a bit illogical to punish the parents. In conclusion, although children have their cognitive abilities and understanding of the situation, I believe, parents are the main reason why their children break the rules, since it is parents who shaped the child like that, not their minds.