It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and joining universities. What are the advantages or disadvantages?

In this contemporary era, it is frequently seen that people of a young age take a year gap between their high school and college. However, there are some drawbacks to this trend, such as a habit of overspending and insufficient academic performance. Children also develop skills like financial wisdom and foreign cultural values, which cannot be neglected. To start with, taking a gap in learning gives opportunity to young children for financial independence. To explain, people who take a year off for continuous work have sufficient funds to reimburse for their expenses. For instance, although living with parents gives advantages to young individuals such as less stress on basic commodities, food and accommodation, living independently provide a chance to precisely manage their budget, which is an essential skill to master. In addition, taking some time off from studies promotes social and cultural knowledge. Travelling to other nations not only familiarises children with people of different ethnic backgrounds but give them opportunity to understand their culture through food, rituals and traditions. However, this cultural exchange is not possible, if young people do not take a break and explore the world. In opposite, interrupted education results in poor academic performance. To explain, taking a long break from education significantly affect individuals' grades because it becomes difficult for them to concentrate and results in bad performance academically. Due to this, some young people find difficulty to secure a designated job early in their career. Moreover, young adults develop a habit of spending more on materialistic products. To justify, during academic years, young people do not have the leverage to purchase expensive goods because of a lack of sources of income. However, this was not the case when young children take a year off to work full-time. For example, many young people purchase a car while working full time jobs and later on it become cumbersome for them to pay off their bills while pursuing their tertiary education. In conclusion, although young people incorporate skills of financial wisdom and foreign countries' traditional knowledge during on education gap period, there are some demerits to this practice, such as bad grades in studies and overspending, which cannot be neglected.