Housing is considered a basic human right, and some believe the government should provide free housing to all citizens who are unable to pay for it. Do you agree or disagree with this belief?

Everyone is entitled to housing, so it is believed that the government should provide financially struggling citizens with free housing. In my opinion, although such a provision is beneficial not only on the individual but also the social scale, it can cause serious problems; therefore, government should consider alternatives that will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, governmental provision of housing will give the economically disadvantaged a necessary boost. The ownership of a house will reduce their burden, enabling them to focus on their work and career. That focus will in turn translate into motivation to lift themselves out of poverty. Moreover, this type of policy will have broader social implications. It stabilises the real-estate bubble while ensuring housing security; as a result, social divisions between the rich and the poor are gradually removed, thus it prevents other problems such as crimes, homelessness and drug abuse. On the other hand, I believe it can put a strain on the government budget. Providing the poor with free housing is an ambitious project, even for developed countries. It will require higher level of taxation, especially on the middle-class, which can be met with protest and resentment. Instead, the government can subsidise housing for the underprivileged, or implement governmental loans. For example, the Central Bank of China has offered mortgages with special interest rates to millions of young working-class families. This progressive policy has helped them secure a roof over themselves while reduce tax wastage. In conclusion, it is true that housing is a fundamental human right. While providing citizens who cannot afford it free houses is beneficial, it is not practical. From my perspective, forward-thinking policies including loans and subsidies will help struggling people find a home and simultaneously reduce the pressure on taxpayers.