As computers translate quickly and accurately, is learning foreign languages is a waste of time? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our modern world, electronic devices can swiftly and correctly translate between many languages, thus, some people think that learning foreign languages is a waste of time. I completely disagree with this opinion. Firstly, It is true that there are lots of applications that help humans communicate even if they speak completely different languages. Even though it is capable of removing language barriers in many cases, there are still some things it can’t get right. Also, most of those applications require access to the internet, and those that don’t require powerful devices. Both of which are not accessible all the time, especially in emergency situations. Another factor is that there are many slangs and different accents of a language, and computers may get confused and give the wrong translation. Moreover, as I said, in emergency situations, u may not have access to a translator app, which might be a huge problem depending on the situation. Also, there are many advantages of learning a foreign language. Mainly, you learn about their culture, their traditions, their norms. Not all cultures are the same, so by learning about the culture may save one from awkward situations. It also boosts one’s confidence. By knowing that you learned their language and can speak fluently, you are not nervous when communicating with natives, as if you are one of them. On top of that, it is a good hobby; rather than wasting time on social media like most people do, you can spend your time gaining knowledge that will very likely benefit you in both your social and work life. Overall, computers can help translate, but you should not trust them completely as they can make mistakes. Instead, learn the language, as it also helps you in many aspects.