Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Some individuals believe that advertisements are so common that we are going to ignore them. Others contend that advertising is a powerful tool to persuade us to make a purchase. This essay will discuss both views and explain why advertising is an effective tool. On the one hand, over-saturation of advertisements causes public to become desensitised to them. We are bombarded with dozens of ads on various social media platforms such as Facebook, YouTube and Instagram, and we are tired of hearing every brand say that its product is the best in the market. That is the reason, we are so used to them and we ignore them. For instance, while scrolling on social media, a person scrolls past dozens of ads without giving them a second thought.Because of Moreover, nowadays people tend to use ad-blockers to avoid thousands of ads on various platforms. Also, there is a rise in ad-free media like Netflix and Spotify that offer streaming of various movies and dramas without showing even a single ad. Now, public tend to bye subscriptions to these platforms to enjoy their favourite serials and dramas. On the other hand, proponents of advertising argue that with the advancement in technologies, advertisers are going to target specific demographics with traits like age, city and interest. For instance, we can see a specific ad to bye something that we have a desire to have or need. Furthermore, they tap into our emotions by using powerful visuals and music that persuade us to make a purchase. Additionally, we can see that advertising companies hire celebrities to endorse their products, because they know that celebrities have credibility to attract their fans to their products. In addition to that, these agencies used various techniques like limited time offers, discounts and flash sales, which created a sense of urgency in us and persuaded us to make impulse purchases. In conclusion, although advertisements are so common nowadays that crowd are going to ignore them, it is still the most effective and powerful tool to convince us to bye products. Because it creates powerful connections between products and our deepest aspirations.