In many countries, prisons are becoming overcrowded. Some people think that criminals should not be sent to prison but instead made to work in their communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate surrounding whether offenders should be sent to prison has been a contentious issue, with opinions diverging significantly. Although there are compelling arguments on both sides. I firmly align with the view that poisoners should engage working in their community, for several reasons. One significant reason I support this viewpoint is that prisoners should work in the community. This is largely due to the fact that it can reduce overcrowding in prison, which not only boosts efficiency, but also gives long-term growth. For example, recent studies have shown that in Finland, petty offenders work in the community such as cleaning public areas and repairing roads, further validating this perspective. Consequently, it is evident that the community can decrease their financial pressure. Another compelling argument in favor of compulsory community work is that community work can help offenders advance their crime ideology. This stems from public service can give offenders a second chance to change, which plays a pivotal role in changing their mind. A clear example can be observed in developing a sense of responsibility and learning useful work skills while serving community work, demonstrating the validity of this argument. Thus, it is clear that community work leads to decreased crime motivation, underscoring the significance of this view. While some proponents of criminals should be sent to prison argue that some are violent or repeat offenders, this perspective is flawed for several reasons. Primarily, it fails to acknowledge that overreliance on prison may cause resources wasted, which is a crucial aspect that cannot be overlooked. For example, such individuals may cause trouble or even harm others during public work, which could put the community at risk, which clearly contradicts the opposing argument. Therefore, the argument that send offenders to prison is inherently weak and does not hold up to scrutiny In conclusion, the evidence presented above supports the assertion that community service can benefit offenders instead of being sent to prison due to advance efficiency and foster responsibility. Moving forward, it is essential that the government should supervise effectively, as this will ensure decreasing criminal issues.