Some say it is better to have vertical cities with lots of tall buildings rather than horizontal cities with fewer tall buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some dissenting voices believes that pethora of taller buildings in the cities ought to be better, instead of having a flat cities with minor of tall infrastructures. I, for one, largely disagree with the viewpoint, due to the menance of human's life associated with natural calamities or accidents, as well as cumbersome for senior citizen to live in vertical cities. This essay will outline my point of views with relevant examples. on one hand, the lives of residents, living in the skyrocketed heights of buildings can be hazardous because of the natural calamities such as earthquakes. It will be very difficult for the people, who lives at the top floor to escape from such situation. In 2002, most of the dwellers at kholapur flat at khacch, Gujarat, lost their lives due to the earthquake happened at midnight, which is a prime example. Living, therefore, can be challenging in the tall buildings and sometimes it can cost lives of the individuals because of such accidents. Moreover, it will be tedious and troublesome for the older people to live on the top floor of the buildings. This is because, some senior citizens are fear phobic towards lift, so instead they prefer stairs to get on the floor. In addition, the air pollution, generally, gets accumlates at the atmosphere during evening, which can cause respirtory issue for the older people. Thus, living in tall building becomes a nightmare for them as they struggles to do the daily task and effects the health. on the other hand, some people argues that tall buildings are better because they take less spaces. This gives spacious area for parking lots or other amentities. owing to this, more infrastructure can be imparted in the cities. This, nonetheless, will leads to traffic snarls as more space will be covered by stores and business sector. To conclude, the residents of tall buildings are in the constant deterrant of natural disaster which can cost their life and troublesome for retirees to live at the resident due to daily struggles and air pollution. I reckon that cities should encourage more horizontal houses than vertical as it will keep the city more attractive and simple, where people can live freely without any threat or trouble from any situations.