Some people think it is better to grow food using scientific techniques. Others think that it is better to grow food naturally. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, it has become quite prevalent that increasingly advanced technology has been applied in agriculture to feed the growing population worldwide. However, people hold different views about this common trend. Some individuals contend that using scientific techniques to grow food is superior to traditional ways. One principal reason in favour of this view is that employing cutting-edge technology can improve overall productivity. For example, an irrigation system can help crops to resist drought, chemical fertilisers can assist them to obtain more nutrients, and pesticides can help them to be resilient to some infections and fatal diseases. Additionally, more resilient crops can be cultivated by the use of exceptional genetic technology when facing global warming and drought in some particular localities. One example is that scientists are more likely to cultivate crops that are heat or drought tolerant through selecting and fostering strains which grow better in special conditions. This means science can guarantee crop productivity and the existence of the human race with the approach of climate changes. Despite constant and even rising agricultural productivity with the assistance of leading technology, there are still some opponents arguing that planting food naturally is better. First of all, food grown by conventional methods is more natural and healthier, as they grow in a natural environment: drinking rainwater and absorbing nutrients from sunlight as well as soil, compared with their counterpart planted in an artificial environment, such as light and nutritious solutions made by experts. Moreover, the flavour of natural food is better. Nowadays, it is easier to find that genetically modified vegetables and fruits in supermarkets are prone to have a more appealing appearance but a less attractive taste. This is because scientists choose the gene which decides the appearance of vegetables and fruits, and at the same time sacrifice the one providing better flavour. Last but not least, allowing crops to grow naturally is beneficial to the whole ecosystem where there is less employment of chemicals, pesticides and genetic choices, which is conducive to complying with natural laws--the fittest survival--with less interference from humans and boost biodiversity. In conclusion, I am inclined to posit that growing food naturally is better, since the food produced by this approach is healthier, more delicious and more eco-friendly.