Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to make people recycle more is to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

I abusolutely agree that it is necessary to put recycling in law to help increase recycling rates. Only by doing so, can we acheive the ultimate goal of recycling. First of all, we can explore what the current circumstances are in countries that haven't make recycling a legistic issue. China, for instance, is a country that haven't intruduced law in recycling. Many useful materials goes to waste due to low common sense of the recycling from the citizens. A vast majority of people don't understand the concept of garbage sorting, which leads to the contamination of some valuable recyclable resources, for example, paper, as I have seen in many garbage bins, was put together with waste kitchen disposal, which made it impossible to be recycled because it's soaked. When recycling issues is put in law, clear instuctions on recycling is bound to follow, which will make garbage sorting way more easier for the public, therefore will decrease waste in useful resources. Meanwhile, in some countries that abide with severe recycling law, like Japan, thingsare going a lot better. There are no trash bins on the streets, because the garbage need to be taken back to the residency for proper sorting. You can not throw trash all you want, you have to sort your own garbage before throwing it out, and you must follow a strict timeslot for garbage collecting, and garbage must be put in the proper spot. If you fail to follow the rules, you may be faced with fine or even lawsuit. As a result, the streets in Japan are extremely clean, as many tourist suggest, "the cleanest place in the planet", and people live their life with a relatively lower rate of waste, due to all the trouble you have to go through when disposing of the packaging. As far as I am conccerned, more countries should engage in making recycling laws to help make the planet more eco-friendly, sustainable and beautiful for generations to come.