Cities around the world are continuing to expand as people leave the countryside. Some people prefer to live in the city while others prefer to live in the countryside. Discuss both views.

Nowadays, the size of urban areas gets bigger than in the past, because of the increasing population residing in them. Still, few people stick with living in rural areas. In my opinion, the reasons why people move in cities are that there are more career opportunities, and a developed infrastructure. However, some of them who choose to live in the countryside want quite and peaceful places, or country people ’s lives cost less than in cities. First of all, there are advantages to getting a good chance for their jobs. In detail, most big companies are concentrated in cities, because they need a good accessibility for running business well, namely supply chains, merchandising, or customer services. Hence, it is much easier for job hunters to start their careers. Furthermore, the rate of wages in capitals is much higher than that in countries. For example, the average annual income of urban residents is three times higher than that in rural areas. Secondly, more facilities are set up in cities than out of them, which makes human life much more convenient. Now, people in big towns look forward to not only necessary organisations, for instances, hospitals, transportation or groceries, but also places to spend their free time, like gyms, parks, or shopping centres. Whereas, the countryside also has its own benefits, especially for people who don’t want to reside in crowded places. People living outside of capitals do not need to worry about traffic jams, or rush hours at transportation. In particular, the population density of them is just half of that in cities. Moreover, living citizens’ live is much more expensive than staying in the countryside. The house rent fee is a representative example of it. Residents the New York, which is the biggest city in the world, pay more than half of their wages for their house rents. They also said it is very hard for them to save money, because their fixed life spans are almost two-thirds of their revenues. In conclusion, people moving to cities are looking for convenient lives with good occupations, while the opposite of them just want to live peaceful lives and spend less. I believe both lifestyles have their own strengths and drawbacks, but if I just choose one, I would like to live in cities.