Art classes, such as painting and drawing, as important to child's development as other subjects, so it shopuld be compulsory in high school. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that in high schools, students should have to study art classes because it helps a child’s development. While some people oppose this notion, I strongly argue in favor of it, as it not only benefits a child’s development but also has many advantages. On the one hand, there are many reasons why art classes, such as painting and drawing should not be compulsory. First of all, students who are in high school are preparing for exam to enter university. They have already decided on their major and spending time on other subjects can be a waste of time. For example, a student who wants to be a doctor has to give focus on learning biology, chemistry and math. Thus, for these reasons, it is not beneficial to take art classes in high school. On the other hand, while there are several reasons why art classes should be mandatory in high school, one of the main reasons is it that it helps a child’s development. For example, by drawing pictures, they can improve their creativity and critical thinking skills. In addition, art classes are considered a type of therapy; they can help to relax, recharge and unwind. As a result, if students take art classes, they can relieve their stress and be more focused. In conclusion, I totally agree with this opinion since it can be a form of treatment and development for students even though some people disagree with it.