Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the progression of technology and the manufacturing of goods, the amount of waste produced has increased significantly over the years. As a result, much more rubbish is produced and discarded, ranging from chemicals from factories to everyday items like plastic bags, bottles, etc. There are two main factors for this issue. Firstly, most pollutants generated from various existing industries are very poorly managed. Additionally, a lot of products are made using non-biodegradable material, which in return pollutes our surroundings. This method is beneficial for large-scale production due to its efficiency, nevertheless, it still poses a great threat to the general cleanliness and health of our environment. Both the government and the people have a role to play in this, and both must take action. While people can contribute by recycling and reducing the use of disposable items, their efforts alone are not enough. I believe governments should introduce stricter laws to regulate the trash produced from factories and other industrial facilities. For example, constructing more designated landfill sites and imposing heavy fines on companies that dump their waste in natural locations, such as forests and rivers. Furthermore, another thing that they could do is encourage more people to recycle, by promoting it via public campaigns using social media and posters, as well as building more recycling centres in order to salvage and reuse the material discarded. Moreover, setting an incentive, such as granting financial rewards for each piece of trash recycled, will also help motivate more people to partake in this. In conclusion, these methods, together with the participation of the public, will minimize the consequences the excessive waste has on our planet.