THE ONLY WAY TO IMPROVE ROAD SAFETY IS TO GIVE MUCH STRICTER PUNISHMENTS ON DRIVING OFFENCES. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DİSAGREE?

The most effective method to make roads safer is to make the punishments on driving offences stricter. Even though some people definitely agree with the given oppinion, others may absolutely disagree with it. Firstly, one clear example on why society could agree with this is that the stricter punishments will lower the motivation for reckless driving. There for, when people know the causes for their actions, they might think twice before doing it. Secondly, i belive that if the penalty for breking the roads gets higher, then these reckless drivers, at some point, will not afford to pay them anymore, there for they will stay off the roads. However, this statement is not always true, because, by making the laws for breaking the rules stricter, it can reduce the accidents, but is is not the only way on how to improve the safety. To illustrate, by spreading the awareness of the deaths and injuries that reckless driving has led to, drivers might take the advice more privatley, hence, their attitude will also change. In conclusion, while making the punishment for reckless driving is affective, because it lovers the motivation to break the rules, it might not be the best way to archive safer roads and get the drivers attention on why exactly their driving habits need to be safer.