“Public libraries should only provide books and should not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or DVDs. Do you agree or disagree?”

Public libraries are a popular destination for self-studies. While some people believe that these libraries should focus on providing books instead of shifting their attention by spending their funds on technology such as software, DVDs or videos. In my opinion, prioritizing sale of books should be the main aim of such libraries designated for public use. While the trend of investing in modern technological media has benefit such as provison visual information. This is because certain concepts or theories can be better acknowledged through images or visual sources rather than in the form of text. For instance, various concepts of physics are better understood through practicals which can documented in form of videos for later usage. Therefore, allocating certain porportion of financial resources for technology can beneficial. However, the side which argues that such investments are not financially viable have certain considerable perspective. Firstly, buying such modern and hi -tech softwares and media can be expensive. Devices that operate on technology are usually costlier compared to traditional books or magazine because of the components used for its manufacturing or operation. Consequently, if public libraries spend their major source of wealth on such high-end products, they will be deviod of resources required to buy books. Moreover, such form of digital sources and software can pose storage issues. To expand on this point, most of the technological operated machines and digital media are bulky and huge, requiring more space than books. For example, if a library decides to install computers for public usage, extensive amount of space will required for its installments. As a result, libraries will obligated to expansion of their buildings. To conlcude, investment made on software, Dvds or videos by public libraries can bring a positive change of acquiring access to visual information. However, I completely agree that speding money on technology would be not effective because of the factors such as reduced affordability and storage inefficiency.