In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, it has been observed that in many parts of the world, individuals prefer to live in a nuclear family instead of residing with their extended families, espacially in metrocities. In my opinion, this trend has more advantages over its drawbacks, and my inclination will be discussed in further paragraphs. To begin, living away from family in a small saperate unit has its own benefits. Perhaps the most prominent one is, it can provide more independency and freedom than residing in a fully extended family. This is to say that, one can have a full control over their environment, schedules and finances along with it allows for self-discovery and personal growth. For instance, many students migrate to different states or country to become independent financially and emotionally. Another inavitable benefit of living alone is that, privacy helps individuals to rest well, work and study according to their time and mood. This allows them a flexibility of working and studying from home without compromising their time, which otherwise they would have invested for children, neighours and friends. On top of that, fewer family quarrels, allow them to relax and provide a peaceful life. Finally, in some cities, small homes can be cheaper. Hence, due to these many benefits, living alone can be benefical. To conclude, living individually in a metropolice is a positive development mainly because it provides freedom to excel, flexible timing and peaceful life.