The key to reducing crime is to have more police patrolling the streets.’ How far do you support this proposal? What other ways of reducing crime may be effective?

It is true that crime rate is increasing at a higher rate. Most people believe that police patrolling would be helpful to combat crimes. I think police patrolling can create a safe environment, and speed up their fight against crimes. But there are other measures which are more effective such as installing cameras, education, providing jobs, and to aware the public about fraudulent activities, etcetera. There are various reasons why some people are in the favour of police patrolling. Firstly, police can provide a sense of freedom, safety, and security, when they are in the streets. Nobody will have the courage to commit a minor crime such as robbery or shoplifting. Secondly, police will become more attentive regarding the security of the public against crimes. If they feel any kind of mishappening or uncertainty then they quickly seal that place to save the people from danger, and speed up to curb criminal activity. However, relying on police patrolling is not enough. Installing CCTV cameras in public areas offers round-the-clock monitoring and helps identify offenders with concrete evidence. Unlike, Police patrolling may be costly, and it may cause the community if it is used unfairly. Also, some areas are risky, so police can ignore those areas at night because of the danger. That is why, I think installing these kind of cameras not only detect the fraudulent activites but also help the police to find the real criminals by capturing it. Moreover, education and job opportunities should be available for everyone. In most of the cases, people commit crimes because they are not fully aware about the consequences. If the government provides free education and jobs to them, then there will no place for crimes for sure. Furthermore, social media platforms are gaining popularity among people, and now it is easy for criminals to do fraud via gaming apps. In this way, they hacked their personal information and can withdraw money from their accounts. Recently, in Punjab, a boy who was addicted to games, and unintentionally clicked on the link. Consequently, criminals withdrew all his money, and the boy who was under pressure and committed suicide after this incident. Therefore, people should be aware about these apps to save themselves from online criminal activities. In conclusion, while police patrolling plays a vital role in deterring crime, but a combination of technological, educational, and social measures is essential for long-term prevention.