It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advanatges of taking risks outweigh the disadvanatges ?

Risk is defined as the likelihood of an uncertain or harmful event happening. The question is, how much of that harm and uncertainity are we willing to ration with? What is the extent to which we are able to reflect upon our threshold, that is, the level in which we are allow ourselves to experience the consequences, be it detrimental or favourable, of course, if any. The human brain has evolved in ways that can tell danger from safety, almost instantaneously. This gives the members of the homo-sapien species the benefit of being able to calculate the risk, that is, rationalising the pros and cons. When the pros outweight the cons, that therefore makes the risk justfiable. This is perhaps reflected in an individuals attempt to leave their stable job, in pursuit of establishing their business. The person resigning has already outweight their gains and losses. They are aware that by creating their own business, there is a chance of obtaining independence and higher income. This also means that they are willing to loose their stable income and comfort. This makes the gains, outweight the losses, therefore making the risk justifiable. On the contrary, change is a pre-requisite for obtaining excellence, or getting a step closer towards it. For change to occur, taking on risk becomes an imperative in achieving that objective. The greatest discovery has started by the thirst for change, an risk, forms the first step in achieving that change, be it positive or negative.