The rising cost and decreasing supply of fossil fuels such as oils and gas along with environmental concern, means that their continued use as our main source of energy is impractical and alternative sources must be found. The only realistic alternative is nuclear energy. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons and relevant examples for your answer.

Nuclear energy is the only substitute at the current time, with the increase in demand and the reduction in the reservoir of fossil fuels. I agree to a great extent, and the essay below will explicate my intellect. First and foremost, nuclear energy is the cleanest source of energy because the byproduct of this energy is only steam, while the pollution related to fossil fuels generates a great amount of sulphur due to the presence of sulphuric impurities in it, which also causes sulphuric rain. The energy generated using nuclear energy will not require any additional means of transportation, because it can use the same medium which are being used at this moment. For instance, France is using around 70% of electricity acquired from nuclear power plants to sustain their electricity consumption. On the other hand, there are some hazardous effects of nuclear power plants, like the maintenance costs being really high, and they need to be built far away from residential areas due to the risk of radiation in the event of failure. For example, the Chernobyl incident happened few decades back, but radiation levels are so high, it is still not habitable. In conclusion, even after such drawbacks, nuclear energy is the only source that can sustain our energy requirements, while we can focus on developing other means of fuel or power options.