The increasing popularity of eco-tourism has both benefits and drawbacks for local communities and the environment. Discuss both sides.

In recent years, eco-tourism has been gaining popularity, owing to its impactful measures to safeguard the biodiversity. Although an environment-friendly tourism reduces the burden on the ecosystem and promotes opportunities for financial growth in society, it can lead to cultural degradation and harm the wildlife. This essay outlines both the positive and negative impacts of eco-tourism. Advocates of eco-tourism opine that it protects the ecosystem by reducing pollution. As environmentally hazardous products, such as plastic bags and bottles, are restricted in protected areas, the production of non-biodegradable wastes can be controlled. Moreover, locally produced goods can be promoted to replace the plastic products, and thereby the local communities can be uplifted financially. For instance, the prohibition of microplastics in Indian national parks and biological reserves has reduced the waste generation. On the contrary, critics argue that greenwashing of eco-tourism can eventually have negative consequences. A falsely labelled tourism can bring in more harm than good as it doesnot guarantee the safety and protection of both the wildlife and the cultural integrity of local tribes. Since eco-tourism attracts tourists, it results in overcrowding of the place, which can potentially degrade and pose a threat of cultural erosion in the long-run. Meanwhile, the flora and fauna are also affected. For example, there is a restriction in the number of tourists who can enter the biological reserve in Kodaikanal, India. It was started as a counter-measure to control the disturbance to ecosystem. In conclusion, eco-tourism works on the principle of safeguarding the environment and the local communities through pollution control and income generation, respectively. However, if regulations and surveillance are compromised, it may ultimately affect the ecosystem adversely. Thus, the governing bodies need to have strict code of regulations and ensure regular monitoring to protect the ecological and social balance.