Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest?

In recent years, the issue of crime has attracted considerable public attention. It is often argued that many offenders recommit a crime as soon as they are released from the prison. There are several underlying factors contributing to this phenomenon, yet a number of feasible measures could be adopted to tackle it effectively. On the one hand, there are numerous factors contributing to this issue. The most significant cause is the punishments do not serve as a deterrent against crinminal behaviors. Perpetrators may consider the price they have to pay for their crimes to be lower than the potential rewards, so they will probably involve in offences. For example, in Vietnam, littering in public places is only fined 100.000 - 200.000 VND (equivelent 4-8 USD), so many people still repeat this behavior. Another contributing factor is the lack of effective reintegration programmes leading to the increase in reoffending. There are too few employment opportunities for ex-offenders to start a new life. They often have to take on temporary or low-paid jobs, which provide unstable income and no long-term security. Without a reliable source of earnings, these individuals struggle to cover basic living expenses and support their families, so that they may recommit to criminal activities as a quick way to make money. On the other hand, this problem can be effectively mitigated through the joint efforts of communities and the government. Firstly, the authorities should place more emphasis on rehabilitation rather than punishment. Correctional facilities should provide moral lessons, vocational training, mental and psychological counselling for criminals to prepare to their reintegrate into society. Secondly, the government should implement stricter policies for crimes, and launch job placement programmes and financial support for ex-criminals to help them reintegrate smoothly. When ex-perpetrators feel accepted and supported, they are likely to lead law-abiding lives. In conclusion, the high rate of reoffending can be ascribed to ineffective punishment system and poor social reintegration, however, it can be solved by a joint collaboration between communities and the government.