Some people believe subjects with practical applications are better, however, others think subjects that are theoretical are better. Discuss both views And give your opinion

Currently, the best method in higher degree education has been discussed. Some experts assert that practical applications are better than theoretical, while, other academics argue the opposites. Actually, both views have strong empirical backgrounds, however, in my view, practical knowledges have more benefits for society. On one hand, graduated students from practical background knowledge, that is so called vocational school, were believed to become problem solver, because they were not only understanding the concept. In facts, industries need those students rather than other students who have theoretical ability only. For example, alumni of the Vocational School of Gadjah Mada University only await for six months to work in industry, compare to reguler student who need at least one year to work. On the other hand, actually conceptual frameworks are needed to analyze problems, however, an end-product should be grounded into layperson need, which is more practical. Currently, the number of universities that rely on theory is decreasing, while other higher degree rely on practical basis has been emerged in the last five years. In the student city, Yogyakarta, for instance, the number of vocational school rise about 20 percent, while only few students have interest to study theories in universities. In conclusion, nowadays, higher education should choose in delivering knowledege to their students, whether practical or theoretical. In the practical sides, they tend to directly overcome problems on the ground, whereas in the theoretical sides, they try to approach problem by the concepts. Both theory has valid reasoning, however, in my opinion, theoretical universities only has small impact to society, that is why I agree that educational institutions that teach practical applications benefit people more.