The most common solution for criminal behaviour is prison but many believe education is a better method. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A huge part of society claims that prisoners should be educated to change their criminal behaviour, while others believe that education cannot help these people. From my perspective, although education is not the final answer for all criminals, it is a decent way to help some portion of this group because a lot of them were not raised in a safe family. To begin with, a lot of criminals were not criminals at first. It cannot be denied that environmental factors are crucial. As a matter of fact, being raised in a poorly educated society or family can cause these problems. For example, a teenager who does not attend school has a lot of free time, often spending hours in the streets. As a result, they try to find friends; meanwhile, they put themselves at risk of making friends with a drug dealer. Moreover, a lot of individuals engage in criminal activities. They were trained by their parents, who were criminals. So, they did not choose crime themselves. They were not raised in a safe family. On the other hand, not all criminals are at the same level. Some of them are not forgivable. For instance, a person who killed others in a cold-blooded manner cannot be educated to be a good person. He acted intentionally and enjoyed that action. Consequently, investing in educating this kind of person is a waste of money and time. So prison can be a fine answer to this behaviour. To conclude, education can be a good solution for a lot of crime due to the fact that a lot of them did not grow up in a secure environment. However, some criminals do these activities as an enjoyable game, so they are not changeable.