Some People believe that the best way to reduce commuting time is to replace parks and gardens near the city center with commuter apartment building, but other disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people say that converting parks into residential buildings near the city centre can reduce the travelling time. However, Others oppose this view. I agree with the latter view, because if most of the society lives nearby, more services such as hospitals and schools will create heavy traffic. Some argue that most offices are located in the downtown area, so workers travel to these places every day. Many employees drive long distances, which eventually leads to traffic; for this reason estimated arrival at the workplace is usually delayed. If the government approve the project to develop apartments close to the city, it will help the workforce to travel in a short time. For example, in one of the Australian cities, Melbourne has implemented this strategy to solve the traffic-related issue, as a result country has less pollution and fewer accidents over the past 10 years. Replacing natural spaces such as parks will not help to decrease commuting hours. This is to say that these gardens do not occupy a large amount of plot. Moreover, any construction requires a lot of additional services from the government, such as medical facilities, bus stations and community schools. This will lead to roadblocks due to vehicle movement. For instance, in Toronto, the public always complains as they reach any location late, because the entire community population is travelling in such a small area. Not only that during the pick hours, the situation gets worse. To conclude, some think that developing high-rise apartments helps in reducing transit, as most population lives nearby. But I believe there will be less effect if gardens are converted, because more vehicles lead to heavy traffic, even if the distance is short.