In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some parts of the world, high school graduates are encouraged to take a gap year before entering to universities. In my view, while there are some disadvantages against the idea, there are more advantages supporting the decision. In the following paragraphs, I will make further explanations. First of all, a young high school graduate is usually inexperienced with how society consists and runs. Without the basic knowledge, one cannot choose the major that fits his or her own interests in the long run. It is well known that many universities students change their programs after the first year only because they find themselves uninterested in the curriculum. With all these reasons, it is definitely beneficial for a high schooler to take a year off to find some work to do in the society before pursuing the higher degree. Besides the experience gaining option, thinking and relaxing for youngsters is also of importance. Many young people would choose to spend sometime to travel to different countries and then make up their minds to the next move. Some might argue it is squander of time, however in my opinion, this definitely worth the time. Living in different cultures not only help the young to recover from tiredness caused by the hard study, but also provides them the opportunity to broaden their views of what life truly means, which will eventually lead them to a better choice for universities studies. However, there are some drawbacks based on the activities they choose. Traveling, for example, would highly likely cost surprisingly more money than they expected, especially for those young adults who are not financially independent or knowledgeable. In terms of finding a job to do before going back to school, there are chances that reputable companies are not inclined to give offers to interviewees who don’t hold higher degrees. With global economy decreasing in the past years, the odds are even smaller which might harm their confidence. The downside in each case varies, but it can be avoided as long as thorough evaluation is made. In conclusion, although there are some hidden cons in gap year decisions, there are many pros young high school graduates can expect from. My suggestion is to take some time to carefully assess one’s own characteristics before making the final decision, he or she will definitely find themselves benefiting from the gap year experience.