In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary era, the food industry has changed significantly. It is said that these days, there are various products from all around the world available in the supermarket for consumption. We cannot deny that it is a really good trend, and I am going to elaborate on this in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, finding imported products can benefit all groups of people in society. There are many people in developing countries who want to live similarly to people in developed countries. Hence, they travel long distances to provide more welfare for their family members in terms of food. Therefore, by providing this opportunity for them, they can purchase their desirable products by reducing their trips and using less fossil fuels. As a result, it will reduce air pollution, which will be effective for our environment. Furthermore, importing food products encourages the local market to compete with the global market to improve the quality of crops. Consequently, they can attract more consumers to their products and increase their financial situation. On the other hand, some of the imported products are just well-designed, and the local market does not have the ability to compete with them. Therefore, not only might their products become spoilage, but it will also decrease the local economic development. For instance, when in Iran, people were attracted by overseas goods, many Iranian markets were eliminated. As a consequence, the percentage of poverty and unemployment increased in farmers’ and retailers’ households for more than 20 years. In conclusion, although distributing different products in global markets can resolve some environmental issues, it can bring unemployment to the local market in society. I recommend that the governments assist their local markets by offering long-term loans to create a healthy competition with imported products.