Traditional family roles are no longer suitable for modern society. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there is an ongoing debate regarding the relevance of traditional family roles in modern society. While some people believe that it is inappropriate to follow the outdated family norms, others argue that traditional roles are significant. This essay will outline why I strongly feel that historical family roles are irrelevant in today’s society. To begin with, currently, both men and women are sharing their duties unlike the existence of a discrete division of labour in the olden days. Traditionally, women were expected to be at home, looking after their children and preparing meals, whereas men were the bread winners. However, today, as both the parents are working, household chores are a shared responsibility. Hence, it is evident that familial obligations are no longer gender specific. Moreover, the tradition of joint families has evolved into nuclear families, which in turn has severed the familial connections. Earlier, families were larger with more people and strong kinship. Nowadays, families have very few members at home, comprising parents and their kids only. As a result, they are emotionally detached with their extended families. For instance, as children are not familiar with their maternal and paternal relatives, these relations do not hold any sense of belonging in their concept of family. In conclusion, considering the fact that families have changed deeply in terms of their gender specific roles and emotional attachment over the years, I strongly believe that the traditional roles are unremarkable today. However, viable measures should be adopted to prevent social detachment.