With the rise of personalized technology and social media algorithms, some believe individuals now live in filter bubbles, limiting their exposure to diverse perspectives. To what extent do you agree that these filter bubbles pose a threat to informed decision-making and societal progress? What measures can be taken to mitigate this effect?

In the technology era, some people claim that individuals are living in social media filter bubbles and have less exposure to various points of view due to the increase in social media marketing schemes. I concur that these filter bubbles have significant threats, but they can be alleviated by taking some advance measures. The first vital menace is related to polarization and limited interaction. Social media algorithms expose users to only one point of view, while other perspectives disappear. It leads to a division of social and political views. In addition, limited interactions with different cultures, backgrounds, and opinions lead to a decrease in understanding. The second threat is the erosion of critical thinking. As it diminishes the ability to evaluate information, consider multiple points, and reach a proper decision. The prime example is users of TikTok. Mostly, false information circulates on social media platforms, and users are not capable of evaluating the misinformation. There are diverse measurements that should be taken to diminish these threats. First is the promotion of media literacy in educational institutions to develop evaluation skills. These skills can help individuals evaluate online information and foster critical thinking by analyzing and questioning the information sources. The second measure is related to technology providers; some functions of social media must be under the user's control. If some features can be controlled by users, they can get exposure to diverse content and can modify content with greater transparency. In conclusion, there are some strong threats associated with social progress and the ability of an individual to make decisions, but it can be diminished by learning media evaluation skills and how to control some functions for the selection of content.