Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that competing with others at workstations, at school, and even in our daily lives is beneficial, while others think that cooperation is required to advance as an individual and as a nation. Although both views bring some benefits to the table, in my opinion, competition brings out the best from an individual, motivates them to work hard, and recognizes their full potential. In the world, where everyone wants to progress in their professional ladder, healthy competition among colleagues should be encouraged by the management of the organization to recognize the smartest, most sincere, and most dedicated person in the company and then promote them to the higher position for the betterment of the organization. Even in university, we always compete with our friend in the exams, assignments, and presentations. Doing well in these areas will bring a good grade in a subject, which results in a scholarship and a bright future ahead. Having a good result at the undergraduate level opens doors for students to pursue their further education at the best university abroad. Having good grades at the undergraduate level is the primary requirement of those universities to secure an offer letter. Excellent results could result in a tuition fee waiver and even get the opportunity to work in the university as a research assistant, teaching assistant, or other post. All these benefits come when we compete with others. For instance, in Bangladesh, when the Grade Point Average (GPA) system was first introduced in 2001 for the Secondary School Certificate (SSC) exam, a handful of students (around 100) got a GPA of 5.00 (which is the highest grade a student can achieve) out of 5.00. Because of the healthy competitions among students and respecting the students who got a GPA of 5, that number reached over 100 thousand in 2024. One of the contributors to this result is healthy competition within students. On the other hand, as a nation, if we want to grow, we need cooperation from our residents. When all the people in a nation work for the betterment of the country and cooperate with each other, then it's quite achievable to make the country into a developed country within a very short period. Even in a family, to overcome any difficulties, we need cooperation from each of the family members. In conclusion, we cannot neglect the cooperation that is required for overcoming any difficulties that a family faces and for placing our country in a better position, but the constant competition makes an individual work hard to achieve their professional goals. When a person grows in their life, along with a nation, they grow.