The rise of social media has significantly impacted communication and relationships. To what extent has social media improved or damaged interpersonal connections? What measures can be taken to mitigate any potential negative effects?

Communication and relationships have been changed by the dramatic increase in social media networks. Although this method is improving our daily life, it also has countless drawbacks that need to be taken into account. To begin with, communicating with people has become much easier, cheaper, and faster because of social media, thus saving time and money. Because of social media, people can instantly send messages to one another without any delay, as well as make calls. This allows people to stay connected, not only when they are apart from each other, but also even if they are living in a different country. However, social media also has several drawbacks as it allows people to stay anonymous, and in doing so, people with dishonest intentions can sometimes make a fuss and spread hate by posting and commenting on other people's posts, which sometimes affects people's morale and is often the prime reason for their depression, also leading to misunderstandings between peers. However, there are several measures that can be taken to prevent this; one of them is applying strict cyber laws. Although many countries have rules and regulations for social media, applying them is, as a matter of fact, not feasible. Applying those laws and punishing those who break the rules can ease the negative effects. Another way is by promoting a social campaign about the negative effects of social media among society. In conclusion, although social media has several drawbacks, it has become an essential part of our daily life and is easing our communication.